Alumni Award

IHE Delft, is proud to have more than 23,000 alumni around the world, forming one of the largest global water networks. Alumni are the Institute's best ambassadors; they use the knowledge they have acquired to implement solutions for the benefit of society, providing the leadership required to address water and environmental challenges in a cooperative and cross-sectoral manner. 


Cancellation Alumni Award 2020

We are sorry to inform that the Rectorate has decided to cancel the IHE Delft Alumni Award 2020, due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the measures taken to contain the spread of the disease.

Due to the circumstances, there will be few or no events organized at the Institute in the coming months and therefore it would be difficult to arrange the visit of the awarded alumna/us to Delft. This decision was not easy and involved evaluating the difficult times in which we are living, but on balance we prefer not to take any risks and we hope to be able to celebrate the Alumni Award 2021 in style. All application will of course be considered for next year’s Award.



Alumni positive career development, increased professional network, and improved competences, show the benefit of following an academic programme at the Institute.

To celebrate the accomplishments of its alumni, the Institute launched the annual Alumni Award that was given for the first time in 2013.

The IHE Delft Alumni Award  will be given to a Diploma alumna/us who has proven to be a role model for other water professionals, by demonstrating the impact of her/his work in a water related field, to improve people's quality of life.

In 2018, IHE Delft rectorate has encourage the younger generation of alumni - those who have graduated in the last 10 years - to share their experiences and achievements and actively participate in the award as well as the female alumni community to take a more active role.

We hope to receive an exceptional number of nominations, to give us a good choice of applicants for the 2021 Alumni award.

Think about your alumni friends, former classmates, colleagues who are worthy of the distinction, or consider nominating yourself. Do you know an alumna/us who meets the criteria and deserves to win the award or are you proud of your own achievements that can inspire other professionals and would like to nominate yourself?

If the answer is yes, we would like to invite you to share your experiences with us by filling out the registration form, including a motivation letter and CV for the Alumni Award 2021.

The call for nomination will be open until 20 June 2021. In September 2021 the awarded alumna/us will be announced. 

The award winner will be granted a one week visit to the Netherlands to follow a tailor-made programme and to attend the Award Ceremony that will take place at IHE Delft in October 2021, as part of the annual celebration of IHE Delft Alumni Day and Opening of the Academic Year. Shortlisted alumni will be interviewed and their stories will be published on the IHE Delft website and disseminated through different alumni channels. Every year the jury faces the difficult challenge of selecting one candidate among all the highly qualified alumni who are nominated. As a result of that, in 2016 we started to conduct interviews (by skype or phone) with the shortlisted alumni, so that we can include their accounts of the impact of their work on our website and through social  media channels.

Guidelines Alumni Award

When nominating a candidate, it is important to explain why you feel that this person, or yourself, should be eligible for the Alumni Award 2021. Alumni who have been nominated previously can be re-nominated.

Nominations for the alumni award 2021 can be sent from now until 20 June 2021.

The award winner will be granted a one week visit to the Netherlands to follow a tailor-made programme and to attend the IHE Delft Alumni Award Ceremony at the Institute in October 2021, as part of the annual celebration of the Institute Alumni Day and the opening of the Academic Year. Shortlisted alumni will be interviewed and their stories will be published on IHE Delft website and disseminated through different alumni channels.

Award Ceremony 2021

The award ceremony will take place on the annual celebration of the Alumni Day and the opening of the Academic Year at IHE Delft.

October 2021

IHE Delft Auditorium

Westvest 7, Delft

The Netherlands

Rules & Regulations

  • The Selection Committee is authorized to select a candidate. The Selection Committee consists of a member of the Rectorate, the Alumni Officer, a Communication Officer, a Professor, a Lecturer, an alumna/us working at IHE Delft a PhD fellow and an MSc student.
  • Alumni working at IHE Delft are not eligible to receive the alumni award.
  • It is not possible to share the prize.

Nominee Criteria

To be eligible for this award, candidates:

  • must be IHE Delft or UNESCO-IHE Delft Diploma alumna/us that have obtained an academic title (Postgraduate Diploma, MEng, MSc or PhD) at IHE Delft or UNESCO-IHE Delft. 
  • must be able to demonstrate the impact of her/his work in a water related field to improve people’s quality of life.
  • must have been a proven role model for other alumni and other water professionals.
  • must have been a worthy ambassador of IHE or UNESCO-IHE Delft.
  • preferably, have demonstrated a progressive and/or innovative approach to developments in the water field.

Nomination Process

  • Nominate an alumna/alumnus by filling out the online form or
  • Nominate yourself by filling out the online form and mention 2 references and their email addresses
  • Describe the achievements of the alumna/us or yourself in a motivation letter of 500 words (place, action, impact). If you are nominating yourself, spell out your achievements proudly - you are up against stiff competition! Do not just send in your CV - it will be dismissed without a motivation letter.
  • Submit the form
  • After submission of the form a confirmation will be sent
  • A member of the selection committee can contact the nominator or references to request for extra information
  • The winner will be informed in September to arrange logistics for the awarding ceremony

Previous alumni award winners

2020 | Cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic 

2019 | Prof. Alvaro Carmo Vaz | Alumnus from Mozambique | Director of Consultec, Professor at the Faculty of Engineering at Eduardo Mondlane University and former Dean

2018 | Ms. Tatiana dos Santos Silva | Alumna from Brazil | Co-Founder and currently Projects Director at FA.VELA, member of the Youth Water Network and Youth Delegate at the World Water Council for the period 2016 – 2018.

2017 | Dr. Arie Setiadi Moerwanto | Alumnus from Indonesia | Director General of Highway Engineering at the Ministry of Public Works and Housing in Indonesia and former Director Water Resource Management

2016 | Prof. Seifeldin Hamad Abdalla | Alumnus from Sudan |  Former Minister of Water Resources

2015 | Ms. Irish Frida Josh | Alumna from Argentinia | National Director of Hydraulic Projects and Public Works for the Undersecretary of Water Resources

2014 | Dr. Okurut | Alumnus from Uganda | Executive Director at the National Environment Management Authority of Uganda 

2013 | Mr. Michael Mutale | Alumnus from Zambia | Executive Secretary at Zambezi Watercourse Commission (ZAMCOM) and coordinator of the Global Water Partnership for Southern African Regional Technical Committee


Connect with us

Never miss a thing!