Delft, The Netherlands, 10 Apr 2017

Prof. Janet Hering awarded the Honorary Fellowship

The IHE Delft Honorary Fellowship award is bestowed in recognition of persons of distinction who have either made major contributions to the work of the Institute or earned distinction for activities associated more widely with the context of the Institute's mission. The Rectorate and Foundation Board are pleased to announce that Prof. Janet Hering is recipient of an Honorary Fellowship of IHE Delft.

The Institute recognizes that Prof. Janet Hering is a well-known and respected scientist in the area of water and the environment. She is also Director of EAWAG, which has had outstanding research and education collaboration with IHE Delft for the benefit of developing countries.The conferment of the Honorary Fellowship will take place on Tuesday, 25 April 2017 on the occasion of the MSc Closing ceremony

Here you can find a list of all our Honorary Fellows.


Prof. Dr. Janet Hering is the Director of the Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science & Technology (Eawag), Professor of Environmental Biogeochemistry at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich (ETHZ) and Professor of Environmental Chemistry at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne (EPFL). As Director of Eawag, she oversees a staff of over 450, including approximately 175 researchers and 84 technical staff members. Research at Eawag focuses broadly on water and the water environment, encompassing the continuum from relatively unperturbed aquatic ecosystems to fully engineered water and wastewater management systems.

In addition to its research activities, Eawag’s mandate encompasses both education and expert consulting. Eawag contributes to tertiary education in cooperation with degree-granting institutions, particularly its partner institutions within the Domain of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, and hosts about 150 Ph.D. students engaged in their thesis research.

Prof. Dr. Hering’s own research interests include the biogeochemical cycling of trace elements in natural waters, water treatment technologies for the removal of inorganic contaminants from drinking water, and the management of water resources and water infrastructure. Her research includes both laboratory and field experimental studies. She has been a member of the faculty of the California Institute of Technology and of the University of California, Los Angeles. She is a past recipient of the U.S. National Science Foundation’s Young Investigator Award and Presidential Faculty Fellows Award. She has served as an Associate Editor for the journal Environmental Science & Technology and is currently a member of the Board of Reviewing Editors for Science. In 2015, Prof. Dr. Hering was elected as a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering.


Connect with us

Never miss a thing!