Academic Departments

Our six academic departments represent IHE Delft’s main themes, which reflect today’s global water challenges: safe drinking water & sanitation, water-related hazards & climate change, ecosystems quality, water, food & energy security, water management & governance, information & knowledge systems. Through our work we recognise the value of an interdisciplinary approach and our primary position to contribute substantially to future global water capacity - particulary within the framework of the United Nations' 2030 Sustainable Development Goals. 


Our academic departments are composed of one or more chair groups, each of which is formed around a particular discipline or specialisation.

Our six academic departments are:

Water Supply, Sanitation and Environmental Engineering

Led by Maria Kennedy, this department encompasses the chair groups on:

Water Supply Engineering

Pollution Prevention and Resource Recovery

Sanitary Engineering

Water Governance

Led by Michelle Kooy, this department is comprised of the chair group on:

Water Governance.


Land & Water Management

Led by Leon Hermans (tbc), this department includes the chair groups on:

  • Water and Agriculture
  • Water Management


Water Resources and Ecosystems

Led by Graham Jewitt, this department includes the chair groups on:

  • Aquatic Ecosystems
  • Hydrology and Water Resources
  • River Basin Development

Coastal & Urban Risk & Resilience

Led by Rosh Ranasinghe this department includes the chair groups on:

  • Coastal Systems & Engineering and Port Development
  • Flood Resilience

Hydroinformatics and Socio-Technical Innovation

Led by Dimitri Solomatine, this department includes the chair groups on:       

  • Hydroinformatics
  • Knowledge and Capacity Development



Download and view IHE Delft's Organizational Chart


Connect with us

Never miss a thing!